Joshua Clausen is a Minneapolis-based composer. His works often inhabit stylistic interstices between chamber concert music, electronic music and varied popular forms exerting “a dynamic intensity to [their] influence of popular culture (Computer Music Journal).”

In 2016 Clausen was awarded a Composer/Sound Artist Fellowship by the Jerome Foundation. His works have also been supported by the McKnight Foundation, MacPhail Center for Music, the Metropolitan Regional Arts Council and the Minnesota State Arts Board. Recent or upcoming performances of Clausen’s works include the 2018 Tribeca New Music Festival, Ensemble Mise-En and ShoutHouse in New York City, Verdant Vibes in Providence RI, the 2018 American Choral Directors Association Conference in Oklahoma City, and American Composers Forum in St. Paul, MN. In the summer of 2017 Clausen attended residencies at Atlantic Center for the Arts in New Symrna Beach FL, and East Coast Chamber ensemble’s ‘Etchings’ festival in Auvillar, France. Clausen has been commissioned by Wild Rumpus new music collective, Milieux Percussion, Struck Percussion Trio, Seen/Heard Trio, Rachel Perlmeter Productions, the Renegade Ensemble, AVIDduo, the pianist Keith Kirchoff, saxophonist Kyle Hutchins and clarinetist Sarah Porwoll-Lee. His work has been presented at numerous festivals and conferences of new music including the International Computer Music Conference, Society for Electroacoustic Music in the United States, New York City Electroacoustic Music Festival, Electronic Music Midwest and the Spark festival. He is a member of the Spitting Image Collective, a Twin-Cities group dedicated to composer-curated programming, and mentors young composers during the American Composers Forums’annual NextNotes initiative.

Clausen earned a Bachelor of Music degree from Concordia College in Moorhead, Minnesota and a Master of Arts from the University of Minnesota. Past instructors include Douglas Geers, Judith Lang Zaimont, Daniel Breedon, Steve Makela, Liviu Marinescu, Mary Ellen Childs, John Gibson, and John Aylward.